Group of Biomedical Sciences

The Group of Biomedical Sciences intends to be a leading academic biomedical center with a prominent role at national and international level. Within the group, basic biomedical research is linked with clinical research performed at the University Hospitals Leuven. The group has concentrated care, research and education in the field of Psychiatry in the organisation KU Leuven. Patient oriented studies in the University Hospital are coordinated by the Clinic Trial Center (CTC).


The Group consists of 14 departments covering all major fields of biomedical sciences. In these departments, more than a thousand investigators perform basic, applied and translational research.



Biomedical Sciences at KU Leuven contains 3 faculties: Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Kinesiology & Rehabilitation Sciences. These schools provide teaching and training at the bachelor and master level for more than 10.000 students. 


Core Facilities

Through core facilities researchers have access to innovative technologies. These facilities foster collaboration and are the means to optimise the usage of resources and equipment.

Read more about our core facilities

Doctoral School

Doctoral School of Biomedical Sciences supports PhD students and postdoctoral researchers.

Read more about Doctoral School