You are here: Home / Group of Biomedical Sciences / About us

About the Group of Biomedical Sciences


Biomedical Sciences aims to be an academic biomedical center with a leading role in Belgium, Europe and worldwide. By providing high-quality and innovative patient care, by offering inspiring education and training, and by performing ground breaking research, the Group, together with the University Hospital, intends to take up its responsability in health care, and to create medical innovation. In this way, it aims to contribute to the establishment of Flanders as a region of knowledge and development in Europe and the world of tomorrow.


The Group of Biomedical Sciences consists of 14 departments covering all major fields of biomedical sciences. In these departments, more than a thousand investigators perform basic, applied and translational research. Interdisciplinary institutes cross the borders of these departments.

Within the group, basic biomedical research is linked with clinical research performed at the University Hospitals Leuven. The group has concentrated care, research and education in the field of Psychiatry in the organisation KU Leuven. Patient oriented studies in the University Hospital are coordinated by the Clinic Trial Center (CTC).


Biomedical Sciences at KU Leuven also contains three faculties: Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Kinesiology & Rehabilitation Sciences.

These schools provide teaching and training at the bachelor and master level for more than 10.000 students. Doctoral School of Biomedical Sciences supports PhD students and postdoctoral researchers.

Committees and councils

Executive Committee

The Executive committee develops the policies on research, teaching and service to society and is in charge of the day-to-day management of the group, the preparation, the co-ordination and implementation of policies.

Read more about the Executive Committee